Coronavirus: Saudi Arabia bans arrivals from SL, four others countries

News Opinion

Saudi Arabia has restricted arrivals from Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, and the Philippines, the Saudi aviation authority announced Friday.

Ban has also been imposed on flights from Argentina, the UAE, Germany, the US, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Brazil, Portugal, the UK, Turkey, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, France, Lebanon, Egypt, and Japan.

Noncitizens, diplomats, health workers have from the countries have been denied entry to Saudi Arabia since February 3. The ban also applies to passengers who have visited any of the prohibited countries in the 14 days prior to their arrival.

The kingdom has barred its citizens from travelling to these countries as well.

However, Saudi nationals and iqama-holders may return to the kingdom in the next 72 hours. After that, no passenger will be allowed to enter the country.

Previously, Canada, Oman, and the UK have restricted Pakistanis from entering the countries.

Pakistan has been battling the third wave of coronavirus infections. The virus has so far calimed 16,600 lives in the country, according to official figures. The number of confirmed cases in Pakistan has jumped to 772,381.


Share this on

Leave a comment